20
May
08

Leadership…

I read ALOT.  Somebody one said that leaders are readers and I guess I took that to heart.  One of the things that I became aware of very early in the creation of Lifesong was that my limitations as a leader would be the barrier that would keep Lifesong from being all that it could be.  To keep that from happening, I have spent the last couple of years reading books on leadership and speaking to ANY leader that I could to gain wisdom and insight.  I picked up Leadership Gold by John Maxwell last night and in the first chapter he gives the best definition of leadership that I have ever heard…

Leadership is the willingness to put oneself at risk.

Leadership is the passion to make a difference with others.

Leadership is being dissatisfied with the current reality.

Leadership is taking responsibility while others are making excuses.

Leadership is seeing the possibilities in a situation while others are seeing limitations.

Leadership is the readiness to stand out in a crowd.

Leadership is an open mind and an open heart.

Leadership is the ability to submerge your ego for the sake of whats best.

Leadership is evoking in others the capacity to dream.

Leadership is inspiring others with a vision of what they can contribute.

Leadership is the power of one harnessing the power of many.

Leadership is your heart speaking to the hearts of others.

Leadership is the integration of heart, head, and soul.

Leadership is the capacity to care, and in caring, to liberate the ideas, energy, and capacity of others.

Leadership is the dream made reality.

Leadership is, above all, courageous.

I am not there yet, but I am doing all that I can to become the leader that God has called me to be to lead this church to become what God birthed it to be.


2 Responses to “Leadership…”


  1. September 16, 2009 at 12:13 am

    How is the rest of the book? Have you read any of his other stuff?


Leave a comment